The CEO of the Wallabies says they will “look forward” to what the governing body have to say
Australian rugby boss Phil Waugh has demanded World Rugby offer up an explanation following the British & Irish Lions’ controversial win over the Wallabies on Saturday.
Head coach Joe Schmidt was fuming Hugo Keenan’s last-minute try was allowed to stand, believing Jac Morgan’s clearout on Carlo Tizzano in the build-up to the score was illegal. Schmidt made the point immediately after the game, aiming his displeasure at the officials, and now the coach has been backed up by his bosses.
“We’ve got the utmost respect in respecting the referee’s decision,” said Rugby Australia CEO Waugh.
“But I do think there’s a level of accountability and explanation that needs to come with that. And we look forward to that.
“My response is absolutely identical to Joe’s comments in the press conference.
“I played professionally for 13 years and Joe’s coached professionally for 20 years and both our views, and all those organisationally, are very aligned with what Joe talked to in that post-match press conference.
“Probably the number one priority for World Rugby is player welfare and we’ve seen great progress made in that space, and in a lot of ways World Rugby lead world sport in protecting the safety of players.
“So the progress the game globally has made can’t be underestimated. World Rugby should be very proud around their leadership position on player welfare.”
The incident has been the main talking point from a pulsating game that almost went the way of the home team.
Speaking on Stan Sports, former Wallabies skipper Michael Hooper was adamant, saying the clearout was at least a penalty and the final try should have been disallowed as a result.
“I can see what the referee is saying but there’s a penalty there,” he said. “Whether it’s on head, on neck or going straight off his feet to the ground.
“I would say if that is minute one, that’s a penalty.”
Morgan himself said he was “nervous” during the replays of the clearout. He told S4C: “I was nervous! I thought I was all right, then I saw it.
“I’m quite happy. Chuffed! I don’t have the words. Happy. Chuffed to win!”
Schmidt was unequivocal in his press match after the game at the MCG.
“I think everyone can make their own decision on that,” Schmidt said when asked about the clearout. “You just have to read law 9.20 and you just have to listen to the description from the referee and then watch the vision when two players are described as arriving at the same time.
“Just watch the footage.”
When asked how referee Andrea Piardi got it wrong, Schmidt added: “Because they are human. Players make errors.
“Match officials make errors. Our perspective is we felt it was a decision that doesn’t really live up to the big player safety push that they are talking about.
“You cannot hit someone above the levels of the shoulders and there’s no bind with the left arm, his hand is on the ground. That’s what we have seen.
“We have watched a number of replays from different angles so it is what it is. We just have to accept it.”